GIDC 2020: WHO’S WHO 

The GIDC International Advisory Committee and the Durban Organising Committee are working jointly to make this a memorable and significant milestone in the relationship between Ireland and Africa.

The GIDC2020 Durban Organising Committee is based at the Centre for Communications, Media and Society in the College of Humanities at the University of KwaZulu-Natal. The committee is composed of academics and members of the Irish South African Association (Kwazulu-Natal Chapter). The Durban Organising Committee is chaired by Professor Donal McCracken and can be contacted here.


GIDC2020 Durban Organising Committee

  • Chris Buckels, Web Development and Design
  • Robert Clark, Irish South African Association
  • Derek Griffin, Irish South African Association
  • Mary Langa, ARROW
  • Donal McCracken, University of KwaZulu-Natal (Chair)
  • Patricia McCracken, Independent scholar
  • Raymond McNulty, Irish South African Association
  • Sandren Naidoo, Irish South African Association
  • Dr Sarah Gibson, University of KwaZulu-Natal
  • Sihawukele Ngubane, University of KwaZulu-Natal
  • Mandy Slabbert, Irish South African Association
  • Ruth Teer-Tomaselli, University of KwaZulu-Natal

GIDC International Advisory Committee

  • Stephen Brighton, University of Maryland
  • Dominic Bryan, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Heather Burke,​ ​Flinders University
  • Malcolm Campbell, University of Auckland
  • Christopher C. Fennell, University of Illinois​
  • Pedro Paulo A. Funari, University of Campinas
  • Martin Gibbs​,​University of New England
  • Dianne Hall, Victoria University
  • Liam Kennedy, University College Dublin
  • Kev​i​n Kenny,​ Boston College
  • Donal McCracken, University of KwaZulu-Natal
  • Mark McGowan, University of Toronto
  • Guillermo MacLoughlin Universidad Nacional de La Plata
  • Kerby Miller, University of Missouri
  • Bill Mulligan, Murray State University
  • Gearóid Ó hAllmhuráin, Concordia University
  • Tadhg O'Keeffe, University College Dublin
  • Chuck Orser, Vanderbilt University
  • Celeste Ray, University of the South (Sewanee)
  • Deb Rotman, University of Notre Dame
  • Regina Uí Chollatáin, University College Dublin (President)
  • Clair Wills, Princeton University
  • David Wilson, University of Toronto